Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Newbie
jimbo_7

posted on 22/5/06 at 11:49 AM Reply With Quote

Hi Guys
Just looking around at 7 kits (after having owned a pre-built robin hood 2b some years ago). I think for my budget I am looking at a avon or a mk or a RB lightweight. Anyway how easy is the avon to build, I have not done this sort of thing before, I do know and have used tools before for various things, but nothing to heavy, am I going to find it hard and what are the build manuals like?

thanks in advance
James

DaveFJ

posted on 22/5/06 at 12:08 PM Reply With Quote
as an Avon owner I'd say - go for an MK...

Dave

"In Support of Help the Heroes" - Always

tractorboy

posted on 22/5/06 at 12:42 PM Reply With Quote
the mk sounds like an easier/better build. i am also a avon builder/owner. but the best advice is to go to both factorys and come to your own conclusion. cheers scott
ayoungman

posted on 22/5/06 at 12:47 PM Reply With Quote
As another avon builder, theres seems to be more problems to overcome with an avon. On the plus side though, Avons do tend to be more individual because builders tend to solve the issues in different ways. MKs seem to be more straight forward to build. If you want a project to get your teeth into then Avon it is

"just like that !"

cryoman1965

posted on 22/5/06 at 12:49 PM Reply With Quote
Hi, i had a very limited knowledge of cars b4 i started my MK. Collected the kit in Oct 05 anb have nearly finished.(is it ever finished?).
The build has been relatively straight forward. Nothing too taxing, just apply common sence and a bit of logical thinking, some guidance from this site and your there.
Build manual? A few bits are helpful, gives you a build order, although i used mine more to put the beer or coffee cup on. but generally it helps.
I originally started looking at RB L/W but am still unsure of the durability of the Ally.(No expert though).
MNR and MAC#1