Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: BMW 320i
jamescho

posted on 1/5/03 at 07:01 AM Reply With Quote
BMW 320i

Hi,

Has anyone out there built a Locost using the BMW 320i as the donor? I'm new to this game, & relevant advice will be greatly appreciated. I've posted this message b4, but in the wrong area. So, for those of you who's come accross this earlier, my apologies.

Rgds..........James

James

posted on 1/5/03 at 10:06 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jamescho
Hi,

Has anyone out there built a Locost using the BMW 320i as the donor? I'm new to this game, & relevant advice will be greatly appreciated. I've posted this message b4, but in the wrong area. So, for those of you who's come accross this earlier, my apologies.

Rgds..........James

I don't know anything about BMW stuff (although I've heard it's heavy and the engine is canted at an awkward angle) but:

A good rule of thumb is: the more you deviate from the original design/plans the longer it'll take and the more it'll cost.

You can make pretty much anything fit with enough effort it just depends how much time you've got or are willing to put in.

Metal Hippy is fitting a large Beemer engine so maybe a mail to him would help.

HTH,

James

ned

posted on 1/5/03 at 10:58 AM Reply With Quote
DITTO!

especially on the weight / awkwardness stuff (IMHO)

beware, I've got yellow skin

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
stephen_gusterson

posted on 1/5/03 at 10:59 AM Reply With Quote
my understand is that hippy's engine is still where bmw put it!

I agree with the deviation thing to my own experience

The 320 is a 6 cyl I think? Might be a bit long cos its an inline engine.

generally the height of the engine is an issue cos locosts are quite low little cars and it screws the bonnet line up.