Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: TIme to open a can of worms
Lotusmark2

posted on 5/5/03 at 10:18 AM Reply With Quote
TIme to open a can of worms

At this point I am turning myself inside out.
I am 6ft 8" tall and 21 stone.
I am trying to get my head aroud which donor and chasis is the way to go.
I am thinking of building my own chassis with a +6" width +2" height and +12" length (this alone is giving me a headache)
Insurance is not an issue so I am looking at a 2000cc + engine to pull my considerable frame about.
I am no mechanic or CAD operator so please HHEEEELLLPPP.

Mark Allanson

posted on 5/5/03 at 10:56 AM Reply With Quote
I would start looking for a cortina if you want a live axle, or perhaps a granada if you want IRS, Steve Gusty is probably the man to ask about the granada, I think he has done it.
Viper

posted on 5/5/03 at 04:56 PM Reply With Quote
If you don't want to fabricate your own chassis, the Luego Viento is a BIG 7 loadsa room in there...

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
stephen_gusterson

posted on 5/5/03 at 08:17 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Mark Allanson
I would start looking for a cortina if you want a live axle, or perhaps a granada if you want IRS, Steve Gusty is probably the man to ask about the granada, I think he has done it.

MY irs is a bit weird and wonderful! (The basic granny has the same suspension as the sierra).

I recon that its much much better to go with a live axle from summat like a cortina that will give you extra width. (think its about another 4 ins)

For a wider chassis, try the mcsorely plans - someone will tell you how to get them.

What some may frown on is the robin hood 2b kit _looks_ fairly wide - it takes sierra seats. Compare this with summat like a caterham, where its so tiny I recon you need to be a supermodel to get in it.

atb

steve

[Edited on 5/5/03 by stephen_gusterson]