Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Fitting a fresh crossflow
barraw

posted on 10/2/07 at 04:23 PM Reply With Quote
Fitting a fresh crossflow

Hello,
next weekend I will be removing the 1700 crossflow from my westfield and fitting a fresh new 1640 engine. I've never done an engine swap before but looking forward to it. Gone through it in my mind a few times, and the only thing I can't figure out is the clutch cable - do I need to detach that before separating the engine and gearbox? If so, how?

thanks

NOTE:This user is registered as a LocostBuilders trader and may offer commercial services to other users
worX

posted on 10/2/07 at 05:02 PM Reply With Quote
I've never done it on a crossflow, so if someone else responds differently then take their word for it!!! but:

I would imagine that it would be a case of just sliding it out of the bracket thats on the side of the engine before it enters the bell housing to go to clutch arm.

to do so, I would imagine that you just need to depress the clutch (on the pedal) and then hold the arm close to the bracket with molegrip/zipties/however you want! and then just pull the cable free from the bracket...
hth
Steve.

David Jenkins

posted on 10/2/07 at 05:10 PM Reply With Quote
You almost certainly will need to disconnect the clutch cable - the outer is threaded through a hole in a bit of metal that either belongs to the engine or the bellhousing (can't remember which!). The inner is hooked through the operating arm - to remove, loosen the adjuster, unhook from the arm, pull the whole thing out. Depending on the previous owner you might have to undo 1 adjustment/lock nut.

It's so easy to do that it would be better just to get it out of the way while you change the engine (presuming that you are lifting just the engine out).

David