Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: What is a Flat Drill
ditchlewis

posted on 12/9/07 at 07:49 AM Reply With Quote
What is a Flat Drill

I have to re drill the base of my starter motor. it is retained with a allen headed bolt that is flush with the face of the base.

the man at cambridge motorsport said i needed a flat head drill. what is one of these?

i know that i have to drill a hole for the bolt but then i have to ream out the base to get the bolt to sit flush with the face.

is a flat head drill bit one of these?

Ditch Rescued attachment flat drill.JPG
Rescued attachment flat drill.JPG

Hurdsey

posted on 12/9/07 at 07:58 AM Reply With Quote
Nope thats a Flat Bit for wood.
I'm not an engineer but I think a flat head drill is designed to drill holes with a flat bottom instead of a bevelled bottom iyswim. I'm sure a good Engineers merchants would stock them.
It may be reffered to as a Reamer but I'm not sure.

Mark Allanson

posted on 12/9/07 at 07:59 AM Reply With Quote
..or perhaps an end mill

If you can keep you head, whilst all others around you are losing theirs, you are not fully aware of the situation

designer

posted on 12/9/07 at 08:00 AM Reply With Quote
The drill you showed is for wood.

A flat drill the bloke is talking about is one used when the hole does not go through the piece being drilled and it leaves a flat bottom to the hole.

Where are you drilling on the base? Are you just making another mounting hole?

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
JAG

posted on 12/9/07 at 08:02 AM Reply With Quote
It's not referred to as a Reamer.

But it is a drill designed to cut a flat bottomed hole.

Be very careful when using it - the shorter cutting edge (than a normal drill) means they need a lot of torque to drive them and can only cut relatively slowly

Justin

Who is this super hero? Sarge? ...No.
Rosemary, the telephone operator? ...No.