Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: side vents
Moorron

posted on 22/11/07 at 09:34 PM Reply With Quote
side vents

After turbo ing my crb1000 BEC i am concerned about temp issues and mainly the flow of air out of the engine bay. I really like the look of the side vents that ive seen on DAX RUSH cars the are on the lower part of the engine bay below he bonnet. I own an MK Indy and wanted to know if anyone knows where i can get some from, hopeflly in the same black as my car.

I can get some made out of alloy or stainless at work but we dont have the press tools for the large (25mm+?) rads that are on the ones i have seen.

In other words, are the ones i seen just retro fitted dax items?

can anyone post some pics of said vents???

Cheers

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

higgsti

posted on 22/11/07 at 10:11 PM Reply With Quote
why dont you cut and flare the tub from the scuttle forward vents it and makes it easier to get at your engine
Humbug

posted on 22/11/07 at 10:36 PM Reply With Quote
Do you mean like this:

or this:

?

They don't look too difficult to make, as higgsti says. Ali would be quite easy. If you've got fibreglass sides, you could cut out 3 sides of a rectangle, leaving the front connected, and make up some long thin triangles to fill the gaps top and bottom.

welderman

posted on 22/11/07 at 11:25 PM Reply With Quote
i would say second picture, some westi boys do this ive been recently told

Thank's, Joe

I don't stalk people

http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/forum/23/viewthread.php?tid=172301

Back on with the Fisher Fury R1

speedyxjs

posted on 23/11/07 at 07:35 AM Reply With Quote
I like these but then i would

How long can i resist the temptation to drop a V8 in?

locoR1

posted on 23/11/07 at 07:48 AM Reply With Quote