Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Fancy having a tinker!!
Richtiger

posted on 5/1/08 at 11:16 PM Reply With Quote
Fancy having a tinker!!

Hi

Really getting into the kit car world and thinking of building an avon. But with a new bathroom new front door and porch also looming its on hold for a short while. However in the mean time i do fancy having a tinker with a 2.0 pinto then possibly using this engine in the build. So where can i pick a good pinto engine up from where can i get a manual for stripping it as im a complete novice. How heavy is it going to be approx is it liftable with manpower or crane only i really am a novice haha. plus if im going to recon it what can i do myself and whats best to have others do and also what upgrades can i have done to it at this stage eg porting or cams,carbs etc?

BenB

posted on 5/1/08 at 11:20 PM Reply With Quote
If you're prepared to go scrappy searching you should fine a fair selection of Pintos. Else they pop up on Ebay reasonably frequently.

Bookwise you could try:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rebuilding-Tuning-X-flow-Pinto-Engines/dp/1899814213/ref=sr_11_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1199575138&sr=11-1

Unless you're strong as a brick shi!t house you'll need an engine crane....

Richtiger

posted on 5/1/08 at 11:27 PM Reply With Quote
nahh not that strong might have to see if the girlfriend will gimmie a lift. haha or shall i try platting pee instead. what sort of money are they going for? Not sure if tiger racing sells them have to check but pay top wack there anyway i bet. Pinto or zetec though? ive heard you can pic zetecs up cheaper than pintos but dnt think its the best way for a novice to start may aswell start basic i suppose
NigeEss

posted on 5/1/08 at 11:29 PM Reply With Quote
IMHO there are much better engines around to tinker with. Yes the Pinto is an Old Faithful
but it's also Old Hat.