New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: wire loom connections
finlay

posted on 6/2/08 at 09:45 AM Reply With Quote
wire loom connections

hello all

just after some advice

its my first attempt at making up a wiring loom and was wondering

is it ok just to bind/twist 2 cables together and seal with heat shirink ?, this is just to make up a specific length its not for connections etc

cheers

Finlay

tegwin

posted on 6/2/08 at 09:48 AM Reply With Quote
Ideally you want as few connections as possible in your wires... Buy stuff that is the right length...

but if you must do connections, twist them together and then solder them, then put the shrink wrap on....

Its worth thinking about what will happen if the cable is put under tension? Will your connector fail?

I always tend to put a stress relief loop on each joint so that if the cable is pulled, the loop expands before the joint is stressed

bonzoronnie

posted on 6/2/08 at 09:53 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by tegwin
Ideally you want as few connections as possible in your wires... Buy stuff that is the right length...

but if you must do connections, twist them together and then solder them, then put the shrink wrap on....

Its worth thinking about what will happen if the cable is put under tension? Will your connector fail?

I always tend to put a stress relief loop on each joint so that if the cable is pulled, the loop expands before the joint is stressed

Very sound advice.

A few moments with the solder gun will avoid a lifetime of hunting down electrical problems

Ronnie

jammy_basturd

posted on 6/2/08 at 11:57 AM Reply With Quote
Personally I'm not a fan of using solder on a wiring loom, I'd much prefer to use proper automotive crimped connections, and heatshrink over them if need be.
thunderace

posted on 6/2/08 at 12:11 PM Reply With Quote
why not buy a loom like the ones from premier looms.

http://www.premierwiring.co.uk/

MikeRJ

posted on 6/2/08 at 12:35 PM Reply With Quote