Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: How do i make a sculpted interior
grazzledazzle

posted on 26/3/08 at 08:37 PM Reply With Quote
How do i make a sculpted interior

Hello all.
Newbie here, with a question which i thought someone on here would know. What i want to do is build a sculpted dashboard with various curves in two planes. I've never used fibreglass before and am a bit reluctant to try?

Anyone any tips on how i should go about making it? I could easily make it from cardboard, is there anything i could then cover this with to make it solid before having it trimmed? I guess MDF is an option but will be much more work. Or am i missing something obvious here?

Thankyou muchly.

blakep82

posted on 26/3/08 at 08:49 PM Reply With Quote
hmmm, cardboard would be too thin, mdf too heavy... i'd bite the bullet and learn fibreglassing myself. i've not done any fibreglass moulding myself, but repaired fibreglass panels. with a bit of practise, its not too difficult to work with

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

twybrow

posted on 26/3/08 at 08:51 PM Reply With Quote
Plywood is good to use. Make the cross section templates and space them accordingly and secure. Then screw a really thin sheet of plywood/mdf etc to the surface. Recess the screws and fill with body filler. You could use this to then make a mould, or just use it to make a one-off. It all depends how comfy you are working with GRP and how many parts you plan to build. I would think for one dash/interior, it wont be worth building a complex set of mould tools. You would be better just making a simple tools then putting in the time to fill/fair/finish the part to the desired standard.

grazzledazzle

posted on 26/3/08 at 08:59 PM Reply With Quote