RL = 168 RR = 203

Front = 208
Left = 282 Right = 297
Rear = 371

Total = 579

Weight dist
Front/Rear = 36/64
Left/Right = 49/51

SO a bit lardier than I had hoped for, and that's minus: drive shafts, passenger seat, fuel tank, sump (), loom, plumping, rad, oil cooler, intercooler, body shell, exhaust, floor, gear shift / linkage, battery, lights, interior trim (cos yeah, there's gonna be loads of that ), fluids, handbrake, alternator, ARBs, and probably a couple of other things.

Given that it's my first build, and my own design to boot, I always knew it would be over engineered, and it's got an iron block too, so I'm not overly upset, but now that the structure of the chassis is complete, I want to be minimal on weight used elsewhere.

I've cut out 100mm x 100mm squares of different gauges of ally, steel and even ply, which I've then weighed for comparison. They are big enough too to get a feel for how stiff they are.

What other materials might I consider? GRP comes to mind - can this be bought in prefabbed sheets? I suppose I might want to make up some of my own, as that will give a truer figure for weight and feel for stiffness in respect of anything I might make myself from glass and resin.

What is the name of that honeycomb / ally sandwich stuff? Where can I get it from?

What other materials might I consider? CF?

Sorry for all the questions, and thanks in advance for all the answers and suggestions!

[Edited on 28/10/08 by Jesus-Ninja]

Suspension geometry tool here >>> http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=81376

tegwin

posted on 28/10/08 at 02:47 PM Reply With Quote
If you can afford it...deffinately CF...or Kevlar...or mix of both..

The cheapest and easiest way of getting the pannels that you want is to get a large sheet of glass...Polish it up...add a release agent, and then lay your CF/Kevlar on that with resin...once its cured you have a slightly flexible sheet to cut out and bond in place