Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Race juice: hardened valve seats?
Philbo

posted on 26/2/03 at 06:07 PM Reply With Quote
Race juice: hardened valve seats?

OK, I'm a newbie and probably tomorrow I will start my collection of bits to build a Locost for trackdays and maybe 2004 racing, once I learn my arse from my elbow.

Racing regs stipulate that only pump fuel can be used: what do people race on? LRP or the 98 octane stuff from Shell - presumably that requires hardened valve seats to be installed in the engine?

Also looks like I will use the GT 4-speed 'box, but I have heard about the necessity for a 'diff collection?! Anyone prepared to share which ratios are required?

Thanks, you'll probably be hearing a lot more from me as the build gets under way.

Locost26

posted on 28/2/03 at 10:13 PM Reply With Quote
Phil

For fuel in the race series, alot of people now are using shell optimax, the regs do alow hardened valve seats to be inserted, if you go to the 750mc site it gives all the regs there.
If your'e not going to be doin the engine yourself, it might be an idea to get a prepped head from somewhere like vulacan engineering, good value for money and ive no problems with any of their products.

As for boxes, the majority of the grid run with 4speed boxes, as for ratios well you will be lucky if anybody admitted there ratios, but most people run standard. For diff's people only normally run 3.9 or 4.1

If you need any advice for racing issues give me a buzz

Philbo

posted on 2/3/03 at 08:50 PM Reply With Quote
Thanks for coming back. Have now sourced engine and gearbox, will check it out for work done (it has already been race tuned but still has standard parts). Looks like hardened valve seats will be the way to go, the 98 octance juice will allow more aggressive timing than LRP so looks like it's a no brainer.