Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Racing Helmet Help - Snell sticker
TimC

posted on 1/12/07 at 09:30 PM Reply With Quote
Racing Helmet Help - Snell sticker

Hi folks
I'm currently looking at a helmet which is a U.S. equivalent of the Bell Sport 4 (Bell is apparently Zamp in the U.S.) helmet. Everything points to the fact that its Snell 2005 accredited which is great, but it's only marked with FIA 8858 which is the FIA's Hans-ready standard. What's the deal with the Snell Sticker - should one come with the helmet or do I have to get it from a scrute?

Cheers

RK

posted on 1/12/07 at 11:48 PM Reply With Quote
Bell and Zamp are sold in the US; one does not replace the other, although they could be made in the same factory. As far as I know (and I am not an expert), the Snell sticker itself has nothing to do with a scrutineer. The helmet is either approved for certain activities or it's not, and a scrutineer will check for its presence at the event.

You have your European standards and approval stickers on helmets, the US has theirs.

bjw970s

posted on 2/12/07 at 12:46 AM Reply With Quote
Hi,

The only sticker a scrut puts on is an 'MSA' one. I haven't got a 2008 blue book yet so I couldn't say what helmet standards are approved, but mine is a SNELL2005 which is still valid.

You would need to get hold of a blue book to be sure before buying. If you want to get a cheap helmet in the UK try the show next weekend or AUTSPORt in Jan as they do do offers.

Brian

As someone else once said 'LOCOST my Ar**

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
TimC

posted on 2/12/07 at 09:00 AM Reply With Quote
Cheers