Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Suitable diff for running upside down and backwards?
sgraber

posted on 11/4/05 at 03:29 PM Reply With Quote
Suitable diff for running upside down and backwards?

This is in regards to La Bala, a middy.

Having recently aquired an FJR1300 engine that's shaft driven I am in research phase and thinking about different ways of getting the power to the wheels.

Since I have very little experience with the different car differential units available, I am hoping that I might get some advice about it here.

Should I assume that a limited slip unit will not run backwards and/or upside down? Am I limited to runing an open diff?

Any suggestions for a common lightweight unit with a very short snout? I am in the USA, but I see a ton of BMW E-series diffs on ebay... Suggestions?

Mounting: Since my engine bay space is not infinite, I was thinking about making a strong cradle that holds the engine and the differential together as one solid unit. I want to eliminate the u-joint and mate the output from the bike shaft directly to the input flange of the diff. Bad Idea? Any suggestions for the shortest possible solution?

Thanks, Graber

Oh yea, I almost forgot. The Yamaha rear diff is a 3.66:1 unit. My cars tire height will be close to the bikes at 24". Should I assume that the car diff ratio should be close to this number?

[Edited on 4/11/05 by sgraber]

Steve Graber
http://www.grabercars.com/

"Quickness through lightness"

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
jimgiblett

posted on 11/4/05 at 04:16 PM Reply With Quote
You might want to check out the Legends race cars which use the FJ1200 motor to see how they get power to the back wheels. Dont know about the FJ1300 though.

Alternatively didnt some early RWD honda diffs run the wrong way?

Cheers

Jim

[Edited on 11/4/05 by jimgiblett]

chrisf