Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: OT: Basic Chainsaw Handling Course????
Irony

posted on 19/8/13 at 10:41 AM Reply With Quote
OT: Basic Chainsaw Handling Course????

Just bought a new house and it comes with a few trees that will need cutting down and it has a log burner. I know a couple of people who own some woodland so I intend to ask them to let me chop up a couple of fallen trees they have. Problem is I have never used a chainsaw before and the girlfriend is worried I'll lop my leg off. If it was me on my own I would toddle out and buy one but she wants me to go on a Chainsaw Handling Course. Everywhere I have googled has some sort of 3-6 day course that are intended for people working in forestry. All I want is a basic course that just keeps me safe. Any ideas?
mookaloid

posted on 19/8/13 at 11:18 AM Reply With Quote
She is right to be concerned - They can be lethal.

I know several people who own chainsaws - none of them will lend a saw out because of the potential for disaster but they will come along and chop stuff up for you particularly if you wave some folding green stuff in front of them

"That thing you're thinking - it wont be that."

Daddylonglegs

posted on 19/8/13 at 12:07 PM Reply With Quote
My wife runs the North-Wilts Training Group (free plug ) and is responsible for co-ordinating all the training required by farmers etc. in the area. Anything from delivering a calf to spraying crops to managing woodland. I also use a chainsaw for occasional jobs, and did a 2-day course with one of the instructors. It was a Lantra 'Cross-cut & Maintenance' course. It will not teach you to fell trees, but it will teach you how to handle the saw safely, manitain/sharpen it (which saves a fortune in chains ) and safely demolish fallen/felled trunks.

I got a card to say I had done the course which allows me to do the same work for someone else (with the correct insurance of course).