Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: La Bala - First Track Day - Learned a lot
sgraber

posted on 6/2/07 at 10:44 PM Reply With Quote
La Bala - First Track Day - Learned a lot

My first ever track event is over. The good news - the car didn't break and the engine didn't blow.

This is going to sound like I had a lot of issues (and actually, I did), but I think in general the day was a success. All you have to do is place this event in the perspective that it's my first attempt at car building, I tried new things and am learning a lot in the process.

Since I am so inexperienced with driving I felt that an experience person would be the correct choice for the first seat. I enlisted the help of a local driver named Glen, known to many at the tracks as a guy that can drive anything. Good choice.

Glen started out by noting the horrendous brake effort, pedal travel is good but the brakes just don't work. Press as hard as you want and the car keeps going. I am going to swap out the pads first to some EBC greenstuffs and if that doesn't fix it I don't know what it could be. I would expect the brakes to at least lock up....

Next he noted a slight miss in the engine while accelerating out of corners and this may be a fuel pickup issue. I'll have to maybe add a swirlpot to solve this or a different tank. As the day wore on, the miss got worse. According to the megasquirt forums it's possible that the ecu is resetting itself and I have to look into this.

Biggest issue IMHO The car oversteers. And it does so quickly without warning. Lowering tire pressures relieved some of this, but I think that the issue is related to the springs and dampers. I need to drop the spring rate significantly and add an ARB. Also the dampers should be dyno'd and the valving set for the car.