Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: What Bike engine?
Paul (Notts)

posted on 25/3/12 at 03:45 PM Reply With Quote
What Bike engine?

Finally decided to go over to the dark side of the force.

After looking at all the possible the power plants for my Terrapin build I have decided the route I will take is BIKE ENGINE.

Almost bought a rover K series V6 last week ( car engine to fit in with my last build a V8 ) but some one beat me to it so I will take that as divine intervention and buy a motor bike engine.

The question is what engine?

I have no knowledge of this area so any advice is welcome. Just emailed Yorkshire engines to see what they have in stock.

Also where to get a Chain diff from ?

Any advice very welcome.

I need to buy an engine very soon or I will change my mind again.

Paul

scootz

posted on 25/3/12 at 04:08 PM Reply With Quote
You're not too late Paul... my spare KV6 would go really well with your eye colour and I'm doing a special deal just now for anyone called Paul!!!

PS - You probably want a Busa, ZZR1400 or ZX12R, or if you're feeling really flush maybe a S1000RRRRRRRRRRR!

It's Evolution Baby!

maccmike

posted on 25/3/12 at 04:11 PM Reply With Quote
Hi, minimum 900cc. newer are lighter and bit more powerful. my 91 zzr1100 goes like a bastard so dont let age put you off. honda, yam, kwakis are all good. carbs = more simple but do need annual cleans etc. injection = slightly less simple but smoother. the chain will depend on your front sprocket, the more cc the beefier. the strongest is 530 (also known as a 50) i got mine off ebay as I needed an extras long custom length one but I run bike back wheel. is your 4 whels? if so, turn engine 90 degrees and run drive shaft. wont get chain slop then, and you wont have to replace chain and sprockets each year either. unltimately it depends on price, i bought complete bike, used engine/loom etc then sold rolling frame. broke even on that.