Poll: Interesting Phone Call This Morning [View Results]
Panic grind the engine numbers off the spare engine.
Panic grind the engine numbers off both engines.
Do nothing.
Help the police with their investigation.
Hide the car.
Go to the pub.
Go to the Vehicle Inspectors Christmas Party

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Interesting Phone Call This Morning
Tyne Bridge

posted on 14/12/07 at 09:58 AM Reply With Quote
Interesting Phone Call This Morning

Please note that to protect the innocent, some details in this posting have been changed! Like my user name!

I got an interesting phone call at home this morning.

"Good morning Sir, I'm a vehicle inspector with Police. I'm investigating vehicle crime on behalf of Hampshire Police. Did you buy a motorbike engine on ebay? (Then gave me my user name on ebay, the make and model of the engine, and the fact that I originally got it from a bloke in Hampshire started a few alarm bells ringing!)."

Then he gives me the engine number that he's looking for. It's the right format for the make of bike engine I have in my car, although he says it sounds made up as it's not in the right format.

Erm, yes thats my ebay user account, I but I've bought a few engines for that car off ebay. Erm I keep blowing them up!

Ah says he. Can I make an appointment to come round and see you. Gives me his office number and mobile, but explains he's on his Christmas do today so only doing a half day.

So I go outside and check all my engine numbers. The number on the engine I got from a breakers that is in the car is OK. The engine number on the spare engine, that I got off ebay is the one he's looking for

Luckily this engine isn't the one I passed my SVA with, or that is on my V5. That one blew up ages ago.

The spare engine is in bits all over the workbench (where it's been for 6 months!).