Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: BEC's and the Nurburgring
DM

posted on 18/5/09 at 10:37 AM Reply With Quote
BEC's and the Nurburgring

Hi all -

My current kitcar is up for sale and once its gone I'll be looking for a new toy to replace it

The main use will be a couple of trips per year to the Ring and some UK trackdays

Am I mad to be considering a BEC? Would be grateful for owners opinions...

These are the issues currently on my mind -

1) Long journeys - For me, getting to the Ring is about 400 miles of mostly motorways. Is this a bit much for a small hi-revving engine loaded up with a lot more weight than it was ever designed for?

2) Reliability - Im a novice driver and keep well within my limits but still the engine will be getting a fair amount of punishment, especially at the Ring. Is this likely to result in a long walk home?

3) Are BEC's too noisy for UK trackdays? How easy/hard is it to get them within acceptable db limits?

ps - ad for my car is here

any advice appreciated

cheers

richardh

posted on 18/5/09 at 10:43 AM Reply With Quote
http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=113602

in case you didn't see it today

Time for a change!

DM

posted on 18/5/09 at 11:12 AM Reply With Quote
yeah - that was the thread that got me thinking about this today
Hellfire

posted on 18/5/09 at 11:21 AM Reply With Quote
1 - 400 miles is a bit much - that's 3 tank fulls at best! Your ears may bleed for a while following this journey! IMHO the N is a better track for CEC as it's long (hence fast!) and not too corner concentrated - but a BEC will get you there without too much problem!

2 - Reliability wise. The engine is about as reliable as you will get - most are Japanese - having said that, it depends on the quality of your build.

3 - BEC's are not too noisy for U.K. Trackdays - Trackdays are too quiet! Most will be ok - with some DB killer or a road legal can...

Steve

jimgiblett