Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Thoughts on a Zectec engined Vortx
Beardy_John

posted on 23/6/07 at 09:34 AM Reply With Quote
Thoughts on a Zectec engined Vortx

Good morning everybody! I am a newbie here, so if I ask anything stupid, feel free to slap me

I am looking at building a Zetec engined Vortx RT over the next year or so, and now looking for anyone elses experiences and suggestions. Been in contact with Chris at MNR and he's been really helpful (so far the only kit manufacturer to reply to my emails!!).

Had a ride out in Steve in Essexs R1 engined RT+ Friday night which just blew me away!! (Thanks again Steve D)

However, it has now made my mind up that I want a tourer more than a track day/ sprint car, as I want to do loads of miles in it and use it as daily as possible!!

Look forward to any suggestions you guys can throw at me

[Edited on 23/6/07 by Beardy_John]

Krismc

posted on 23/6/07 at 09:50 AM Reply With Quote
Good choice! Im running a 2.0 blacktop with type 9.......see my pic below!!

what engine you thinking of running?? 1.6, 1.8, 2.0 silver top, black top, Mt 75 or type 9 box?

BAD POINTS..
1) I did have initial issues with clearances with the type 9 box, because where the engine needs to sit the clutch arm would come out in the drivers footwell, but burton do a hydraulic cylinder replacement kit- so now its a hydrualic clutch and works(which is a bonus)

2) I also have to strip the engine right down to remove it, and the timing pully has to be removed which is a mare if i ever need a clutch replaced!

3) ive have the water pump running the wrong way as the alternator usually fits where the steering arm comes down, so ive had to move it and im wating for a new impeller to sort that issuse out,

GOOD POINTS.