Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Funny Story
JoelP

posted on 26/9/03 at 11:28 AM Reply With Quote
Funny Story

I read this just now in a magazine, it had me laughing quite hard. Apparently true, but who knows? I dont have a scanner so in the interests of a laugh, i'll type it all in for y'all:

"A true story, as written by way of an explanitory letter to insure's quesitons, by an unfortunate builder.

Dear Sirs,
i am writing in response to your request for additional information in Block 3 of the accident report form. I put 'poor planning' as the cause of my accident. You asked for fuller explanation and i trust the following details will be sufficient.

I am a brick layer by trade. On the day of the accident, i was working alone on the roof of a new 6 storey building. When i completed my work, i found that i had some bricks left over, which when weighed later were found to be slightly in excess of 500lbs. Rather than carry the bricks down by hand i decided to lower them in a barrel by using a pulley, which was attached to the side of the building on the 6th floor. Securing the barrel at ground i went up to the roof, swung the barrel out and loaded the bricks into it. Then i wen tdown and untied the rope, holding it tightly to ensure a slow descent of the bricks.