Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Motorbike suggestions
locoboy

posted on 16/12/09 at 11:34 AM Reply With Quote
Motorbike suggestions

Guys,
I have had a hankering for many years to have bike and im getting clost again to making a decision.............

I have NO riding experience on the road.
I have ridden military 500cc harleys on airfeilds etc.

I have reasonable slow manoverabilty control having messed about on gasgas trials bikes trying to go as slow as possible round a windy course.

I have mechanical knowledge to backup the theory of how bikes/transmission etc work and how altering one variable can affect another.

I have been a pillion passenger for many miles on the back of the following

Yamaha Vmax
Honda (?) Varadero
Honda St1100 pan european (my favourite)
Honda Gold wing

I have visions of me and the misses off on the bike (pan european) to austria/ Italy/ Switzerland for summer holidays etc.

I dont want to do sportsbike speeds although i know this list above are all good for 120mph +

In short i want touring comfots with enough torque to give a good turn of speed 2 up with luggage.

its been a while since i took any interest in bikes and what models are suitable.

Can anyone suggest anything they think may be suitable for the above?

Budget i'm hoping for is no more than 2K

I know i need to do a DAS direct access course to get on one of these machines.

Any bikers have any general advice to impart!?

No ditch the frame and build a BEC comments please!

ATB
Locoboy

mookaloid

posted on 16/12/09 at 11:39 AM Reply With Quote
Honda Deauville does all the above apart from the silly speeds but will be cheaper to insure and will perform quite adequately

"That thing you're thinking - it wont be that."

MikeCapon

posted on 16/12/09 at 11:47 AM Reply With Quote
VFR 750 or 800 if you're lucky.

Honda = Pretty unbreakable.

V4 = Torquey motor but still quick enough.