Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Can someone explain what Omex/throttle bodies are etc etc!!??
villagehoppa

posted on 23/6/15 at 07:10 AM Reply With Quote
Can someone explain what Omex/throttle bodies are etc etc!!??

Hi All,

New to this site so hello... Please can someone explain what an omex system is all about. I'm new to all this stuff and would love a very black and white explanation of what it does if that is ok? Does an Omex system replace a factory fitted ecu or is it used in conjunction with it? Say I was going to use a Ford engine would I use the ecu that it comes with or replace it with this unit? I've heard about throttle bodies too so wondering what the deal is with these too! It is all very new to me so trying to understand what is involved and what to buy for better power, fuel economy etc etc, any help and explanation for a newbie would be fantastic please and most appreciated, basic idiot proof information would be fantastic... Many thanks...

loggyboy

posted on 23/6/15 at 07:32 AM Reply With Quote
From google:

In fuel injected engines, the throttle body is the part of the air intake system that controls the amount of air flowing into the engine, in response to driver accelerator pedal input in the main.

As for omex, there are various versions types, but basically it is a an aftermarket ECU that works with things like throttle bodies.

Mistral Motorsport

ali f27

posted on 23/6/15 at 07:36 AM Reply With Quote
Hi Omex is the trade name of a company that make stand alone ecu systems there are a number of other companys that do the same they replace factory ecus and are reprogrammable to alow tunning of your engine set up
A throttle boddie is a tube that air flows through into your engine with a means to control how much air flows through the tube at any given time these are either a large single one connected to all cylinders or smaller ones on each cylinder.

jeffw