Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Electronic Systems Engineering.
cps13

posted on 27/4/13 at 11:56 PM Reply With Quote
Electronic Systems Engineering.

Hi,

I currently work as a Load Cell engineer and I am studying a HNC in EE. After doing this I will be continuing my studying, my boss has asked me to look into what I want to do.

For my job there is a lot of control boxes, displays etc and I am looking at Electronic Systems Engineering rather than Electronic Engineering as I think it may be more relevant but cannot find too much info on it. Don't get me wrong I have found a lot of uni's which have pages full of info like...

"You will design systems, build and test prototypes while employing a wide range of technologies"

And things like you will study

Electronics
Digital Signal Processing
Data Communications
Control Engineering

But can anyone tell me what you ACTUALLY study. Do you learn programming languages? Do you learn about things like RS232/485 technologies etc.

Any advice greatly received!

skov

posted on 28/4/13 at 07:00 AM Reply With Quote
I did my Electronics degree at Sheffield about 15 years ago. I did Electronics with Computing, which I suspect has some similarities with Electronic Systems.
If I remember rightly the first year of the degree was pretty much the same regardless of what speciality you signed up for and covered the 'basics', i.e. lots of maths, basic electronic, electrical, and electromagnetic theory, and how to program in C.
For the second and third years there were some core modules that everyone did (maths, electronics, etc), some modules based on your speciality (for computing I did things like software theory, digital electronics, communications), and you got to pick a few modules you liked the sound of (I did pattern recognition and artificial intelligence amoungst others).