Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Weber 40's dcoe
flathatmat

posted on 26/6/06 at 08:13 PM Reply With Quote
Weber 40's dcoe

I have a set of Weber 40 DCOE's with bolt on trumpets. If they were the slide in trumpets then they would slide over the venturis to hold it. Can you tell me what holds the venturis when a bolt on trumpet is fitted?
At the moment it looks like someone has cut the slide in part off a trumpet and the just bolted on the trumpet.
As you can tell i am a bit of an amateur at this lark but want to get the setup right. Any information would be appreciated.
Thanks

andyharding

posted on 26/6/06 at 08:31 PM Reply With Quote
Yes, they should slide in. I have a set of short Weber DCOE 40 trumpets here if you want them cheap?

Are you a Mac user or a retard?

flathatmat

posted on 26/6/06 at 08:43 PM Reply With Quote
But what holds the venturis if you just bolt on the trumpet on the end as they do not slide in on the type i have???

mookaloid

posted on 26/6/06 at 10:16 PM Reply With Quote
http://www.webernorthamerica.com/pdffiles/45DCOE152.pdf

no.28 locking screw I think

flathatmat

posted on 26/6/06 at 10:30 PM Reply With Quote
so if i have bolt on trumpets with no insert that goes over the venturi just the trumpet, then i need retaining screw to hold the venturi OR i need some trumpets with the insert built in and the tab washers to fasten them on??

Thanks for your help.

britishtrident

posted on 27/6/06 at 06:59 AM Reply With Quote
Two types of venturi exist, the normal type used by Lotus others had a steped rebate on the outer diameter to acomodate the slide in trumpet, the trumpet and air filter box back plate being held in by two studs per inlet. The trumpet in turn held the venturi.

The other type of venturi used by Chrysler Uk on some hunter and Avenger/Sunbeam models had the full length of the venturi the same dia as the carb body (I presume 40 mm)

Dave-M