Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Security Tool
Dusty

posted on 13/4/10 at 09:54 PM Reply With Quote
Security Tool

Ars*. Daughters laptop (Dell, Windows 7) has picked up Security Tool malware which is telling her it's infected with 50 certain death bits of malicious software! Warning beeps and windows almost every keystroke. Dell had preloaded Macaffee which didn't stop it. I asked her to download Malwarebytes which she has but it won't run. She is not very good with this sort of stuff and I have no experience with windows 7.
She is 300 miles north of me at the moment.
Last time I had something like this it was my sister in Oz with a similar bit of malware.
Can anyone advise please.

cerbera

posted on 13/4/10 at 10:12 PM Reply With Quote
A friend had this recently and we managed to sort it using the info from this link

It uses Malwarbytes but before trying to install it gets you to run a reg fix, which I assume overcomes the problem installing Malwarebytes.

It says to follow the step by step instructions carefully, but it worked fine for us.

HTH

[Edited on 13/4/10 by cerbera]

jambojeef

posted on 13/4/10 at 10:14 PM Reply With Quote
Funnily enough security tool got me last week despite Norton internet security running the whole time.

This thing is by far the most aggresive virus that ive come across - it had hijacked the browser, attempted to uninstall my norton software, prevented my using ctrl/alt/delete to control running processes - automatically restarted the PC lots and threw warning windows up continaully the whole making it very hard to do anything to try and remove it - took me hours!

I recovered it eventually with good old spybot search and destroy and then adaware but because of the browser hijack I had to save spybot to a memory stick using dad's PC then run from there.