Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Abandoned project, or even basic chassis
matbat

posted on 10/9/04 at 06:22 PM Reply With Quote
Abandoned project, or even basic chassis

I know your going to suggest starting one from scratch, but as this will be my first ever Locost, I would rather adapt an existing project. I'm in Sussex so something in this area would be what I wanted.

All the Best
Mat

Chris_R

posted on 10/9/04 at 06:29 PM Reply With Quote
This is my first project too and it's hugely satisfying to watch it coming together. I had very little welding experience before starting so did a free 10 week course at a local college. Would definitely recommend starting from scratch, but if you're set against it you might be better off buying a chassis from someone like MK or GTS as you'll get a lot of support along with it.

[Edited on 10/9/04 by Chris_R]

A bit of slapstick never hurt anyone.

http://www.chris.renney.dsl.pipex.com/

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
matbat

posted on 10/9/04 at 06:59 PM Reply With Quote
Wow! that looks very good,I still think I'll try to get hold of a basic chassis, though, but if I cannot I'll learn to weld and make my own (might have to have hazard lights on permanently though!)
Chris_R

posted on 10/9/04 at 07:18 PM Reply With Quote
When I fist got the book and started collecting components the thought of building a chassis from scratch was a hugely daunting prospect. Even when I started the welding course I though that building the chassis would be a long way off, but eventually I just decided bugger it, if I don't start it I can't finish it. Once I got started it was great. Finally found a practical application for school book trigonometry and have been watching the whole thing grow bit by bit.