Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: right i want to learn how to weld
omega0684

posted on 19/5/09 at 02:16 PM Reply With Quote
right i want to learn how to weld

i want to learn how to mig weld, there are lots of little jobs i need to do and having the ability to produce a respectable weld would make a lot of them easy for me.

so my questions is what tools do i need to learn how to weld, obviously mig welder mask etc but what type, im a complete novice so added detail and explanations of how and why will help considerable,

also where can i get the equipment from at reasonable/cheap prices, second hand etc

cheers

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
cd.thomson

posted on 19/5/09 at 02:21 PM Reply With Quote
Get down to your local college, they often do 10 week+ free courses throughout the year aimed at increasing the skills of unskilled labourers.

Well worth it, but they are obviously highly subscribed.

Craig

twybrow

posted on 19/5/09 at 02:21 PM Reply With Quote
I have at least 2 spare helmets, so don't buy them!

Have a look at Aldi at the moment. They are doing a special on a gas/gasless Mig. To be honest, it looks like a Clarke welder in disguise.... Alsi also have a load of other very useful welding bits this months - clamps, overalls etc.

blakep82

posted on 19/5/09 at 02:29 PM Reply With Quote
that aldi welder doesn't look too bad for the money. once you get used to welding you'll probably want something better. but should be alright to learn with

http://www.aldi.co.uk/uk/html/offers/2867_9841.htm

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

r1_pete

posted on 19/5/09 at 02:36 PM Reply With Quote
Lots of usefull stuff HERE to get you going, including kit tips.