Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Bought a lathe!
thomas4age

posted on 16/1/08 at 11:35 AM Reply With Quote
Bought a lathe!

Hee all

I've bought a slightly used lathe of the HBM make (dutch) will post piccie tommorow if the camera don't let me down again.

thing is I've never worked on one of these before, (well not by myself anyway)
Are there any online tutorials on the basics of metal turning and spinning?

Grtz Thomas

If Lucas made guns, Wars wouldn't start either.

BenB

posted on 16/1/08 at 11:37 AM Reply With Quote
They're not free but these are popular

http://www.chronos.ltd.uk/acatalog/Chronos_Catalogue_Workshop_Practice_Series_185.html

r1_pete

posted on 16/1/08 at 11:41 AM Reply With Quote
There is a small book 'The Amateurs Lathe' only about a tenner but a very worthwhile read. Most examples are around model making, but the techniques etc. are applicable to any turning activities.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/THE-AMATEURS-LATHE-BOOK-MYFORD-BOXFORD-COLCHESTER-LATHE_W0QQitemZ160197219060QQihZ006QQcategoryZ11437QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcm dZViewItem

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
UncleFista

posted on 16/1/08 at 12:28 PM Reply With Quote
This any help ?

Tony Bond / UncleFista

Love is like a snowmobile, speeding across the frozen tundra.
Which suddenly flips, pinning you underneath.
At night the ice-weasels come...

owelly

posted on 16/1/08 at 10:38 PM Reply With Quote
I've bought a lathe too!!!!

Mine may be a bit big. It has a 48" bed (working length) and is a gap bed with a 20" swing. Perhaps I'll sell it and get a smaller one....!!!??

http://www.ppcmag.co.uk

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
omega 24 v6

posted on 16/1/08 at 10:41 PM Reply With Quote
Just be carefull and sensible with it, they can bite you BIG TIME.

If it looks wrong it probably is wrong.

charlierevell