Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Fitting the nose cone
ditchlewis

posted on 29/7/05 at 10:45 AM Reply With Quote
Fitting the nose cone

Please gentlemen I would like your valued comments on fitting the nose cone. i have attached a sketch (im no artist so please forgive) showing the 4 locations i intend to fix the nose cone to.

i was planning to use 4mm bolts into rivnuts, are these bolts big enough or do i need bigger bolts?

are 4 number fixings adequate?

regards

Ditch Rescued attachment nosecone.jpg
Rescued attachment nosecone.jpg

DarrenW

posted on 29/7/05 at 10:49 AM Reply With Quote
Ive seen nose cones fitted with only the top 2 bolts. I have gone for 4 on the top but it might be overkill.

What about a pair of bonnet catches on the bottom - make it quicker to remove.

chrisg

posted on 29/7/05 at 11:01 AM Reply With Quote
A few people, including myself, have gone for two brass hinges at the bottom and one dzus fastener either side, this allows the nose to swing forward for access to the radiator,steering gear etc.

One or two just have the brass hinges, the nosecone being located by being trapped by the bonnet but i'm a belt and braces man!

Yiou need a strap or wire to hold the front from hitting the ground when it's open.

This method gives you great access without having to take the nose off.

Cheers

Chris

ditchlewis

posted on 29/7/05 at 11:01 AM Reply With Quote
The idea was to allow for easy access to wire up the indicators, and allow for their changing to a more stylish type at a later date. it was only a thought. it might be over kill but i have thought of ease of access for maintainance through out the build.

but you are right the hold nose cone can come off easily and i might be making more work for myself.

Ditch

James

posted on 29/7/05 at 12:05 PM Reply With Quote
I was thinking of doing the hinge and DZUS thing.