Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: draining compressor
blakep82

posted on 18/2/13 at 11:58 PM Reply With Quote
draining compressor

I have to admit, I'm not very good at draining my compressor after I've used it, which is bad, and I guess in the long run, dangerous.

Its in a very awkward place, not easy to turn, and not easy to tighten and seal after its drained. I'm looking at trying a modification to make it easier

What size thread is the drain screw likely to be? I guess they're generally standard? Its a clarke 150l one.
I thought 1/4" npt, but when I look for bits, they're in america, and the ones here are 1/4" bsp?

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

Fred W B

posted on 19/2/13 at 05:38 AM Reply With Quote
In the small sizes BSP and NPT are so close as to make no practical difference.

Cheers

Fred W B

You can do it quickly. You can do it cheap. You can do it right. – Pick any two.

r1_pete

posted on 19/2/13 at 08:03 AM Reply With Quote
I think you'll find the fitting in the tank which the drain screw assembly fits into is 1/4" BSP, the thread will be about 1/2 dia but tapered.

[Edited on 19/2/13 by r1_pete]

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
owelly

posted on 19/2/13 at 09:35 AM Reply With Quote
My compressor had a 1/8"bsp drain cock that was a fiddly critter to get at. I extended it with copper pipe and put a 1/4 turn valve that pointed to a srain just outside my garage door.

http://www.ppcmag.co.uk

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
blakep82

posted on 19/2/13 at 12:11 PM Reply With Quote