Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Lathes
kipper

posted on 25/3/05 at 12:37 AM Reply With Quote
Lathes

Has any-one got a small lathe for sale?
I have no experience of using one but the times I am asking other people to do a little job for me is telling me it's time I had one.
Thanks ........Kipper

Hellfire

posted on 25/3/05 at 02:29 AM Reply With Quote
Us too - you know it's time when those jobs you know you can do are only a machine away!

Ben_Copeland

posted on 25/3/05 at 07:28 AM Reply With Quote
My dad will be selling one of his small ones in a few months. I'll keep you in mind if he ever gets round to it.

Ben

Locost Map on Google Maps

Z20LET Astra Turbo, into a Haynes Roadster

Enter Your Details Here
http://www.facebook.com/EquinoxProducts for all your bodywork needs!

NS Dev

posted on 25/3/05 at 08:46 AM Reply With Quote
If yuo can engineer a 3 phase to single phase conversion, or have three phase, or don't mind spending £350 on a phase convertor, then lathes can be had very cheaply from a few machinery dealers.

Look to spend around £500 - £750 on the lathe and get a simpler, heavy duty "old english" one, rather than a far eastern more modern one.

I have a Colchester Master 6.5" roundhead with 40" bed length,which is not really what you could call a small lathe, but it only cost me £100 delivered, and most of it works, and for an old english lathe it has the definite benefit of a metric and imperial screwcutting gearbox, downside I can't really use the metric one as on a single phase motor, I can't reverse it!!

(PS any electrical whizkids on here tell me how to rig up a single phase reversing circuit, I know it can be done!!)

flak monkey

posted on 25/3/05 at 09:14 AM Reply With Quote
I thought the reversing was done in the gearbox, not at the motor...could be wrong though!

A smaller Colchester range is the Student. They are quite good, and can agin be had quite cheaply.