Other
No f'ing idea :)

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: What thickness ali for plenum chamber
BenB

posted on 19/2/09 at 12:14 PM Reply With Quote
What thickness ali for plenum chamber

I'm making my own plenum chamber for the BEC EFi conversion. Only issue (actually if only it was!!!) is what thickness to make the plenum chamber out of.

The plenum chamber is going to be a rectangular box approx (in mm) 150 wide, 100 tall, 200 deep.
But- I'm going forced induction at some point so it needs to take 10PSI...

Is 2mm way too thin? I'm thinking 3mm at the moment. Obviously it can't have any internal ribs to strengthen it so it's effectively a pressurized can!! Don't want it going pop.... Not sure if final structural analysis will deal with this kind of thing (though I have no knowledge of FSA!!!)....

I'm going to be tack welding it with MIG on the spare engine (argon + proper wire of course) then taking it to my brothers place to be tigged. Unless my brothers TIG is out of action in which case I'll technoweld it.

I was going to use 100mm wide 2mm tube (circle being strongest blah blah blah) to make a log plenum but trying to get it all to fit and still allow trumpets made the inlets pretty tortuous which obviously ain't that great... So it's flat sides to the box now...

What does anyone reckon???

Mr Whippy

posted on 19/2/09 at 12:16 PM Reply With Quote
many production cars now use plastic ones and their hardly that thick either so I'd just use 2mm, tbh I'd just make it all out of steel and paint it silver

[Edited on 19/2/09 by Mr Whippy]

Fame is when your old car is plastered all over the internet

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
BenB

posted on 19/2/09 at 12:29 PM Reply With Quote
I could make it from steel (I could after all make it thinner so it wouldn't end up that much heavier. But it would still be heavier.....