Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Uneven tyre wear on my S2000
garyo

posted on 5/3/13 at 08:05 PM Reply With Quote
Uneven tyre wear on my S2000

Hi Chaps,

My S2000 has some strange tyre wear on the inside edge of the front right (off side) tyre. The other front tyre has no issues, so in my mind it can't be tracking related (the car drives and brakes straight and true) so I *think* it must be a simple case of too much negative camber on that wheel...

I'm no expert though, so thought the wear may be a dead giveaway for someone that knows.... particularly the lip on the extreme outer? I'm broken hearted at having written off a brand new tyre in what feels like only 5000 miles!!

Cheers!

Gary

tyre
tyre

tyrezoom
tyrezoom

[Edited on 5/3/13 by garyo]

mookaloid

posted on 5/3/13 at 08:16 PM Reply With Quote
I would certainly have a 4 wheel alignment check done as soon as the new tyre is fitted or the same will happen again!

"That thing you're thinking - it wont be that."

austin man

posted on 5/3/13 at 08:16 PM Reply With Quote
it hasnt had a knock on that side has it nephesw escord did and the bottom hub was bent. it may also be down knackere bushes on the wishbone

Life is like a bowl of fruit, funny how all the weird looking ones are left alone

pmc_3

posted on 5/3/13 at 08:49 PM Reply With Quote
Wouldn't negative camber be wear on the inner edge?
Dunbikin

posted on 5/3/13 at 09:07 PM Reply With Quote
Deffo looks like negative camber, I had the same on my car.

Ron said it would cost 250 quid. My wife thinks it did.

garyo

posted on 5/3/13 at 09:11 PM Reply With Quote
Yep - it's the inner edge that has the wear.