Contributor

Posts 2751
Registered 30/8/05
Location Sussex

Photo Archive Go!
Building: Built v8 striker/blade fury/ R1 westy,now zetec we

posted on 5/4/13 at 06:34 PM Reply With Quote
Transporter tdi mpg

What sort of mpg could i expect from a 130bhp 1.9tdi t5 transporter with normal driving and towing.
Any tips on other issues these vans have .

tompat3463

posted on 5/4/13 at 06:52 PM Reply With Quote
£100 will normally get me around 500 miles of combined driving. Im a builder and usually have around 500kg of gear in the rear so that the closest I can say to pulling a trailer.

What I can add is that the money u may spend extra on fuel compared to a transit or other U will definately save of repairs as it is an absoloutely bullet proof van.. owned my 55 plate which has just clicked 90,000 for 3 years and ov only spent around £150 or unexpected repairs.

O/S strut and a 4 sets of ARB droplinks (coz I put cheap ones on)

to sum up, a really good van. loads of space but a tiny bit heavier on juice than a transit I would say... for god sake dont get the bigger crafter VW van as they are shite !!

cheers Alan

Wadders

posted on 5/4/13 at 06:58 PM Reply With Quote
It must have been chipped to make 130bhp, although strangely they seem to get better mpg when chipped.

Common faults on the t5 include: (although not sure if they apply to the 1.9 as much as the 2.5 5 pot)

Clutch DMF rattle
Chewing driveshaft splines
Leaky exhaust manifolds
Water pump failure
ABS pump failure
Turbo hoses blowing off

Saying all that, i think they are great vans

have a sniff round here, i'm sure all your questions will be answered.

http://www.vwt4forum.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=147

Al

daniel mason

posted on 5/4/13 at 07:06 PM Reply With Quote
we have 4 x transporters on our firm. 3 x 1.9's (one of which is the 130) and a 2.5 5cyl and for some reason my van which is the 2.5 5cyl is miles better on juice.