Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: PCV Valve
a.j.stehr

posted on 18/6/11 at 12:05 PM Reply With Quote
PCV Valve

Hi, Im building a kit using a pinto 2lt SOHC. I'm almost ready to get it running but am a bit confused about the oil breather system. On the NS of the block above the engine mount there is a hole. Im told this is for the PCV valve which i have along with a grommet. i believe this has to have an oil separator or kidney valve between it?? Any Advice?? If this is correct where can i get one from as you don't seem to be able to buy them on Burton etc...

Any pictures would be great! I will try to upload some of mine in a bit!

Thanks in advance

Hope this works as i'm new to this!!

big-vee-twin

posted on 18/6/11 at 12:12 PM Reply With Quote
Hi and welcome, there are many oil catch tanks available on ebay.I would say get one with a 1.0 ltr capacity and breather.

I have removed the valve on my set up as I am using throttle bodies and there is no vacuum connection to it on the in take to open the valve

Duratec Engine is fitted, MS2 Extra V3 is assembled and tested, engine running, car now built. IVA passed 26/02/2016

http://www.triangleltd.com

a.j.stehr

posted on 18/6/11 at 12:58 PM Reply With Quote
Is it essential to use an oil cat tank then?? I hadn't planed on putting one in. I am using weber 45's and my manifold has an input on cylinder 4, i'm presuming for this reason... lI'm not fully clear on what the PCV valve does either but i'm told i need it for a flame trap?

My plan was to put the oil separator in the block with the PCV valve in the top and connect the hose from that to the manifold? would this work??

Is this the oil separator??

EV58 Motorcraft NOS PCV Valve 1971 1972 73 Pinto Capri | eBay UK

omega0684

posted on 18/6/11 at 01:10 PM Reply With Quote