Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Locost Westy?
strugrat

posted on 21/5/04 at 08:10 AM Reply With Quote
Locost Westy?

Hi guys,

I am new to this car building thing and plan to order my kit towards the end of june. Originally I had been looking at all the usual suspects (MK, GTS, Mac1 and Tiger). But then I stumbled across the Westfield site. It seems that the SEi or the SDV kits from westfield are similarly priced and have pretty much the same stuff in as the MK etc (albeit not everything and not quite as good value). It seems that you could do these westfield kits for the same price as an ST (5-6k). Which leads me to the question?

Could I order one of these SEi kits or SDV kits etc and then raid the MK parts bin for alot of the othet stuff etc thus keeping the cost down?

This must be too good to be true. So what am I missing?

Someone please enlighten me!

David Jenkins

posted on 21/5/04 at 08:25 AM Reply With Quote
I have a lot of respect for Westfield - they make good products and their after-sales is better than just about everyone else... but normally you have to pay a premium for this extra service.
Maybe the Locost phenomenon has affected their sales and they're trying to compete!

David

flak monkey

posted on 21/5/04 at 08:28 AM Reply With Quote
Hey there....

If you went to some of those manufacturers they wouldnt be too keen on selling you parts for a West"£$d or a Cateringvan.

I think you will find their cars are also different size to the Locost (i may be wrong).

Also see here for the opinions of people here about Cateringvan owners

http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=2287

i think similar has been said about west%^"£d owners!

Why would you want to do what you suggest anyway. Its far better to chose a kit from one manufacturer, then you know all the bits you get will fit (unless you buy a Tiger ). Sticking with MK, GTS, Luego etc you cant go wrong....

Cheers
David

Sera