Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: A Good Deal?
Stuart Walker

posted on 5/7/04 at 05:25 PM Reply With Quote
A Good Deal?

Hi, I'm new to this whole thing so if anyone could advise me on this would be much appreciated!

Went down to MAC#1 in Sheffield at the weekend, they had a Locost (1.3 X-Flow, 4-Speed, Minilites, Professionally welded Chassis) for sale at £2500, its about £200 - 300 and a little work away from passing its SVA. Just wondered if its a good deal? Also, what will the performance be like in its current state?

I'm only 19 so the idea was to tidy it up, run it like this for a year or so, then put a Fireblade in it .

Cheers,

Stu

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Jon Ison

posted on 5/7/04 at 05:32 PM Reply With Quote
without seeing the car it dont seem too OTT, get haggleing though, your rite about the fireblade bit, sooner the better............

what does it need to finish ?

Stuart Walker

posted on 5/7/04 at 05:38 PM Reply With Quote
Ok might be worth a drive at least, thanks.

It needs just stuff like SVA bonnet catches, all that sharp edges crap, about 2db too loud, cant remember so it cant be important!

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
JoelP

posted on 5/7/04 at 10:10 PM Reply With Quote
to get an idea of how quick it will be, work out the bhp per tonne, and compare it to other cars on the road. Then add in the superglue handling (aided by the minilites) to make it a bit quicker and more fun. is the 1.3 xflow about 60bhp? that makes aroung 130bhp/tonne, which is around a mondeo v6 sort of figure (170 horses in a 1300kg car). thats a ballpark figure of course...

fireblade whips it up to about 280ish bhp/tonne, which beats an M3 easily.

Beware! Bourettes is binfectious.

David Jenkins

posted on 6/7/04 at 07:55 AM Reply With Quote