Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: What car is best
j1400

posted on 7/10/03 at 06:06 PM Reply With Quote
What car is best

I'm new to the world of Seven's, but have agreed with my dad to do a joint project. I'm am currently building a 1.4 16V vauxhall engine and when it is done I think I could have more fun with it in a small RWD car. My Dad want to build a caterham chassis etc... But the variety of Locust's about there maybe better options open to me/us, any experince of the differents or things to read would be really useful so I can make an informed decision in stead of following a badge.
Regards James

Ben_Copeland

posted on 7/10/03 at 07:48 PM Reply With Quote
welcome my friend

hope you get the answers you want!

Ben

Locost Map on Google Maps

Z20LET Astra Turbo, into a Haynes Roadster

Enter Your Details Here
http://www.facebook.com/EquinoxProducts for all your bodywork needs!

JoelP

posted on 7/10/03 at 09:04 PM Reply With Quote
easy, is it an FWD you're building at the minute?

the main choices with a seven type are what engine, drivetrain, and where the chassis comes from, or if you build it yourself. i would recommend doing it yourself cos its easyish and fun.

so choose a donor with the right layout and engine, massacre it and build a chassis for the bits. if you use several cars as donors you will possibly end up on a q plate.

getting ron champions book is undoubtedly a good start for inspiration.

all the beast! joel

j1400

posted on 8/10/03 at 03:40 PM Reply With Quote
currently it's the engine is in a nova, but I want to plonk it in to a seven in a year or so when it's full developed. I'm wanting to go with a built chassis then just a bell housing conversion for a RWD box De Dion rear axle set up and very light. But which is the best chassis for handling??
JoelP

posted on 8/10/03 at 04:56 PM Reply With Quote