Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Any Shift Workers Here?
RazMan

posted on 26/12/07 at 11:02 AM Reply With Quote
Any Shift Workers Here?

Due to circumstances beyond my control I am forced to take a temporary security job until something better turns up (gotta pay the mortgage)

I have never done this sort of thing before - 12 hour shifts (6 to 6 ) 4 days on, 4 days off, 4 nights on, 4 nights off - I desperately need advice on 'survival tips' to get me through this low point in my career, so any fellow sufferers out there?

Cheers,
Raz

When thinking outside the box doesn't work any more, it's time to build a new box

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
mistergrumpy

posted on 26/12/07 at 11:10 AM Reply With Quote
Yeah I work shifts. 10 hours though just wandering around on my own. Summat like 4 days, 2 off 4 lates 3 off. It kinda feels like all you do is work and sleep sometimes. I actively set myself little targets, daft or not. On my last job I used to do 15 sit ups every 15 minutes ( I find if I concentrate on 15 minutes at a time then the hour passes quite quickly) because I struggle with them and they start coming round too quickly to handle. On this job I sometimes walk out as far as I can and then work out a route and how many laps till my dinner/tea. Just little targets like that work for me. You'll soon master it.

tjoh84

posted on 26/12/07 at 11:11 AM Reply With Quote
not done shifts but done 12 hour day just lots of pro plus and coffee
rayward

posted on 26/12/07 at 11:11 AM Reply With Quote
did a stint of 4 on 4 off, last year

we did 2 days 2 nights (all 12 hour shifts)4 days off .

the guy across the road from me thought i;d lost my job cos i was at home so much!!!!!

the days weren;t too bad, the 12 hour nights were a killer, worst when they fell over a weekend.