Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: what welder for a complete novice?
daniel mason

posted on 3/3/12 at 10:07 PM Reply With Quote
what welder for a complete novice?

if i manage to sell my car,i will be buying a road registered kit project to tinker with. what sort of welder would you guys recommend tgo buy? mainly for welding brackets,mounts to chassis and welding exhausts etc? and how do welders differ? i am a complete novice but want to learn.
should i be looking at tig,mig,arch,stick, ac/dc, 110v/230v, what should i be after?

mark chandler

posted on 3/3/12 at 10:18 PM Reply With Quote
Mig, 150 amps, get the best quality you can afford, for a budget clarke 150te is a good start.

Use clean metal and do not leave it in a damp garage as the wire will rust on the spool, if you do not have room inside for the welder keep the wire reel in the warm.

Practice makes perfect, get a light sensitive mask so you can support your welding hand as this makes it much easier.

Mig does splatter so gloves and always keep you body covered, very easy to stick something together wearing a tee shirt or shorts, then suffer burns later on.... just from the arc, like sun burn we have all done it.

Little bottles are IMHO a waste of money, also budget for a regulator and buy a big bottle and helmet so allow £150 above the cost of the welder.

Regards Mark

The Venom Project

posted on 3/3/12 at 10:18 PM Reply With Quote
I never did any welding before getting a TIG, I understand MIG is pretty easy, but TIG leaves a lovely finish with a bit of practise, and if you buy the AC/DC version you can weld anything.

I have my eyes on this TIG when im flush again, as I don't need an AC Tig for alloy.

http://www.sipuk.co.uk/tools/info_SIP05266.html

Try and stick to a decent brand. I bought a cheap chinese one, when it was working it was great, but nobody wanted to repair it when it broke.