Board logo

Another EXUP question.....sorry!
Adam - 17/7/07 at 03:15 PM

I've done search's on this topic and my understanding is unless you don't want error codes on your dash then it's best just to fit the motor under the dash.... is this the case?

I'm fitting a 2000 R1 motor and just wondering if i need to fit it, plus was wondering if you can hear the motor under the dash? is it annoying?

Sorry if this has be answerd else where but i just can't find the info be gentle with me i'm still learning

Cheers

Adam

[Edited on 17/7/07 by Adam]

nitram38 - 17/7/07 at 03:18 PM

Are you using the R1 clocks?
If not, then remove all together

fesycresy - 17/7/07 at 03:20 PM

Mines under the dash.

Never ever hear it. The intake and exhaust noises drown it out.

HTH

Lyn.

stuart_g - 17/7/07 at 03:21 PM

Why not fit the EXUP motor in the engine bay? then it won't really matter, mind you though I don't think you will hear it regardless of where it is put.

Adam - 17/7/07 at 03:22 PM

I plan to use the R1 clocks as there doesn't seem much options without spending a fortune.

Cheers

Adam

Adam - 17/7/07 at 03:23 PM

thanks for the reply guys.... that was bloody quick

Many thanks

Adam

nitram38 - 17/7/07 at 03:26 PM

There is supposed to be an electronic diagram somewhere on the web, but I have also heard that it does not work all that well.

adithorp - 17/7/07 at 03:27 PM

I've just made up the widget suggested by BobC in this thread.
http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=69965

Works a treat and I'm not lugging a redundant EXUP around, or I won't be when I get on the road!

Adrian

[Edited on 17/7/07 by adithorp]

nitram38 - 17/7/07 at 03:28 PM

Just found this link

zxrlocost - 17/7/07 at 04:07 PM

Hi unless you want tto remove it altogether just leave it plugged in in the engine bay

smart51 - 17/7/07 at 04:12 PM

Mine is in the engine bay. It squeaks at key on and key off, but not loudly. You can't hear it over the noise of the engine.