Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: bmw donor
mastercobbler

posted on 30/1/09 at 05:29 PM Reply With Quote
bmw donor

hi everyone, as you can see i am new to all this, am in ireland and have the choice of two bmw 520's,would appreciate comments on suitability or any thoughts at all,only 200 euros

[Edited on 30/1/09 by mastercobbler]

mr henderson

posted on 30/1/09 at 06:03 PM Reply With Quote
To be honest, they are completely unsuitable. You would be better off coming to England and buying a Sierra, even if it cost quite a bit more. You will save money in the long run

John

speedyxjs

posted on 30/1/09 at 06:04 PM Reply With Quote
Welcome to the madhouse
With regards to your question. If i can do it with a 6 pot or maybe even a 12, anything is possible

blakep82

posted on 30/1/09 at 06:14 PM Reply With Quote
theres a few people on here using BMWs. only for engine and gearbox though. not sure its worth getting a WHOLE sierra instead. BMWs engines are awesome, gearbox too

speedy, 6 cylinder? have i missed something?

IVA manual link http://www.businesslink.gov.uk/bdotg/action/detail?type=RESOURCES&itemId=1081997083

don't write OT on a new thread title, you're creating the topic, everything you write is very much ON topic!

TPG

posted on 30/1/09 at 07:03 PM Reply With Quote
I have looked at BMW donors.I found you will have to do a lot of redesign on the front end.The rear is a bit easier.However,There is a 525 based Haynes roadster somewhere on the haynes forum. I would use just the Bmw engine/gearbox and rear end.
I have started another car.But I have retained the Sierra based front end.I obtained a couple of complete front legs local for £30.The rest I will raid from whatever I stumble across.
Some links of BMW based motors one
two

[Edited on 30/1/09 by TPG]

..Which was nice..

speedyxjs

posted on 30/1/09 at 09:14 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by blakep82