Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: caterham hayabusa diff
andrewmorpeth

posted on 21/5/09 at 10:09 PM Reply With Quote
caterham hayabusa diff

Ive got a caterham with a standard diff ie plug in driveshafts.Have fitted hayabusa engine and now need to change diff any help with ratios parts etc ,also bailey morris best for propshaft manufacture.Going for 2pce with no reverse.thanks andrew
Frosty

posted on 21/5/09 at 10:41 PM Reply With Quote
Assuming 13 inch wheels a 3.38 diff ratio will give you about 120mph in 6th. This is Sierra flavour though.

I'm not sure how limited you are with the de-dion axle though. I don't know which ratios you have available you in that format.

TimC

posted on 22/5/09 at 06:51 AM Reply With Quote
I've no first hand experience but I know from another forum member who has done a lot of research that the 3.14 is the preferred ratio for a forced-induction Busa. Apparently its a bit long for a NA motor but ideal with the extra grunt.

progers

posted on 22/5/09 at 06:53 AM Reply With Quote
If you want to go on track you will need to get a 3.14 ratio diff, otherwise you will be bouncing off the rev limiter on the straights. These are not very common ratio's and will have a price premium. Seeing that you are a Caterham owner and have put a Hayabusa in the car, that probably is not such an issue

Bailey Morris are very good for props.

I would have a chat with Phil at Road and race transmissions in Kent. They are very experienced with Caterhams and maybe able to offer you something alternative to the standard Sierra diff setup that would be suitable for the task.

- Paul

bitsilly
Contributor

Posts 726
Registered 9/6/05

Photo Archive Go!
Building: Flexibility into my marriage, bless her!

posted on 22/5/09 at 07:12 AM Reply With Quote
I have repeatedly been told that a busa needs LSD. The favoured one by Westfield is the freelander diff with quaife ATB unit.