Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: buying a car with Cat D damage history
asl

posted on 23/1/10 at 05:18 PM Reply With Quote
buying a car with Cat D damage history

Hi all. I have been looking at buying a c63 for a while and have just seen one which is a fair bit cheaper than the average due to Cat D damage (apparently cosmetic front end) The damage has been repaired.

I've googled Cat D and it comes back with 'Category D - Repairable. Probably non-structural damage. May have been economic to repair, but insurer doesn't want to.'

Any ideas what could have resulted in a 2008 c63 being classed as Cat D. It's an expensive car and doesn't quite add up......

Cheers

t.j.

posted on 23/1/10 at 05:30 PM Reply With Quote
Did you win the lottery? Or robbed a bank

I would check the car over and over.
And also take a good look at the identificationnumber

Please feel free to correct my bad English, i'm still learning. Your Dutch is awfull! :-)

Peteff

posted on 23/1/10 at 05:43 PM Reply With Quote
Some cat D are stolen recovered and the insurance has paid out on them then they turn up so the original owner does not want them back, not necessarily the damage causes them to be sold on.

yours, Pete

I went into the RSPCA office the other day. It was so small you could hardly swing a cat in there.

plentywahalla

posted on 23/1/10 at 05:51 PM Reply With Quote
Th insurers will sometimes not instruct a repairer and sell the car off as Cat D.

It may be because the car was stolen and the owners claim was settled before the car was recovered.

Also on a very high value new car the policy holder can demand a new replacement rather than a repair if it is a 'no fault' claim.

I would still look very closely into chassis damage and chassis alignment

scootz

posted on 23/1/10 at 05:53 PM Reply With Quote
Bought a few Cat D's... nothing to be scared off. Could be a million-and-one reasons why it was written off.