Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: how to validate formulae in MS Excel?
mads

posted on 27/4/10 at 08:07 PM Reply With Quote
how to validate formulae in MS Excel?

hey all,
hoping someone can point me in the right direction...

i want to validate the formulaes used in a spreadsheet designed by someone at work. i've never done this before as most of my formulae are for personal use and not that complex. however this one is vital for safety purposes and i want to make sure the equations work EVERY time with whatever values are entered.

obviously i could simply input a range of numbers in each cell and see what it does but this would take me months to do. is there software or some other method i can use to test the spreadsheet?

We gain knowledge faster than we do wisdom!

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming... "f*ck, what a trip!"

JohnN

posted on 27/4/10 at 08:22 PM Reply With Quote
In short, the only way you can check a spreadsheet that produces results and not error messages is to test various input values at the extremes of the ranges you expect and check that the results are correct
liam.mccaffrey

posted on 27/4/10 at 09:31 PM Reply With Quote
@ John,depending on what the particular function being tested is using range limits might not prove the formular is good, especially if you have an oscillating or asymptotic function.

You could write a macro to run through a large number of inputs and record the results. you could then do some analysis on your output data set.

If this really is safety critical though might I suggest you get it independantly evaluated by some software development people.

[Edited on 27/4/10 by liam.mccaffrey]

Build Blog
Build Photo Album

Humbug

posted on 27/4/10 at 09:34 PM Reply With Quote