Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: OT House electrics
COREdevelopments

posted on 21/6/10 at 10:58 PM Reply With Quote
OT House electrics

Hi all, sorry for the OT post again. As mentioned in a previous post I have been Destroying my recently purchased first house. The electrics were in a sorry state with the old steel cased consumer unit with rewireable fuses!! And wires that were going anywhere. My plan was to get a new consumer unit but I have now ended up striping all old wires out and have began on the first fix. At this point i like to add I am a mechanic not an electrician! But I feel competant to do the job and have almost finished the first fix. My main concern is trying to get someone out to test it and certify it. I have spoken to a building inspector briefly who has told me i can either go through them or a suitable registered electrician who can issue a installation certificate. But am i correct in thinking that the elctrician will only issue an installation cert if the job has been done by himself and not me?? The building inspector said that a periodic cert is no good. So are there any electricians on here that can give me some good advice? I do know of a sparky but he is the old school variety and not registered.

any help is appreciated

Rob

Oh ye forgot to mention my budget is very tight as I had to put a whooping deposit down just to buy the place! And no my baby has not seen any sunshine this summer!!

A1

posted on 22/6/10 at 12:39 AM Reply With Quote
I do believe that its kinda meant to be done by a certified electrician, but i could be wrong.
You have to have the electrics tested every year or so or your house insurance is invalidated.

cliftyhanger

posted on 22/6/10 at 05:28 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by A1
I do believe that its kinda meant to be done by a certified electrician, but i could be wrong.