Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Wanted cheap electrical projects
Duncan Mould

posted on 3/3/11 at 10:30 PM Reply With Quote
Wanted cheap electrical projects

Wanted CHEAP electrical projects. I am a teacher at a secondary school and have been tasked with redeveloping the electronics projects.
They really are CRAP and would you believe that the chap who ran the course before me produced each kids project for under 10p.
(it is such a poor subject but needs to be delivered) Because I mess with cars it would seem that I am the school sparky and have become the CHOSEN ONE.
I have had a look around the net and seen one or two things done with old computer parts but want a project that will enthuse my pupils and can be made in the true locost style. Think back to what you did at school perhaps.

mads

posted on 3/3/11 at 10:38 PM Reply With Quote
i'm going to get in there before anyone else does.... my Indy will need a loom designed and built from scratch!

We gain knowledge faster than we do wisdom!

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming... "f*ck, what a trip!"

loggyboy

posted on 3/3/11 at 10:43 PM Reply With Quote
We made egg timers using a 555 circuit. was fun and cant have cost that much.
austin man

posted on 3/3/11 at 10:45 PM Reply With Quote
have a look at the maplins web site they sell electronics projects at different price levels you may be able to buy the same components and produce your own board to replicate

I buils an electronic Tacho from a kit and fitted it in my car well impressed total cost £11 they have alarms, solar projects, micro bugs, number generators, amps to name a few

Life is like a bowl of fruit, funny how all the weird looking ones are left alone

MikeR

posted on 3/3/11 at 10:45 PM Reply With Quote