Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Help designing a new kit car digitally
lukeep

posted on 3/4/11 at 07:44 PM Reply With Quote
Help designing a new kit car digitally

Hi guys,

I am new to the world of kit cars and design but a have had some uniqueish designs floating in my head and now i would like to design it, digitally first then build it so if there is anybody good with solidworks or autocad near Reading let me know or even a company that can help me would do too.

i dont know it is the right section to put this topic so just let me know if i have as i am new to this

mant thanks

luke parker

dan_g8

posted on 3/4/11 at 08:27 PM Reply With Quote
ideally you want the designs done in solidworks so you can look at stresses ect.

if no one with solid works comes along i could help you out. the work that i do is normally only 2d such as houses, store plans and elevations ect. let me know.

What sort of results are you looking for?

Dan

[Edited on 3/4/11 by dan_g8]

tegwin

posted on 3/4/11 at 09:19 PM Reply With Quote
Learning any 3D cad program can be a reall pain in the backside. To begin with you really need to be able to think/design in 3D.

If you have a design in your head then this is a really good starting point.

Have you tried drawing your designs the old fasioned way on paper etc first? Work out the basics of what you actually want to draw and hash out the details.

"Sketching" in a 3D program is a nightmare, you need to know exactly what you want to draw (more or less) before you start.

If you do have some hanhd sketches of parts etc, I suggest getting Solidworks (or sketchup if you want something for free) and give it a go... Someone here will be able to give you some pointers, or there are loads of handy tips on youtube :-)

Good luck to you

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------