Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Chassis design help
lukeep

posted on 26/4/11 at 03:53 PM Reply With Quote
Chassis design help

hello guys i posted on here a while ago. I am looking to see if someone preferabally local would be willing to mentor and help me and my mechcanic friend design and build a chassis i understand box section or tubing as the chassis i need help mainly with suspention as double A frame style

1) how do design a double A frame front and rear suspention
2) Designing a light weight sturdy mid engine kv6 chassis

I know i am a novice but i really want to learn any help will be a bonus.

nick205

posted on 26/4/11 at 03:58 PM Reply With Quote
Are you working on paper or in CAD?

Either way, you could post up your design ideas on here and receive the benefit of a much wider audience.

Might also be worth searching out some books on chassis and suspension design. Staniforth, Des Hammill, Haynes etc al cover aspects of deisgn and build.

Kwik

posted on 26/4/11 at 08:09 PM Reply With Quote
what will be the chassis use?

will it be a racer single seater, locost 7 type car, etc.

all the info, drawing, ideas, sketches on napkins, will all help

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
lukeep

posted on 27/4/11 at 10:25 AM Reply With Quote
Hi guys I have added some quick mock ups of the main chassis using the abomination that is sketch up positive criticism gratefully accepted
Miks15

posted on 27/4/11 at 10:38 AM Reply With Quote
mock up of entice chassis
mock up of entice chassis

mock up of en-tice chassis top
mock up of en-tice chassis top

i think you need a bar across the big opening on the side view. Theres little to no strength in that area and as thats where you be sat i doubt youll want it buckling around you!

designer

posted on 27/4/11 at 10:45 AM Reply With Quote
Agree, it's going to bend.