Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: How should I buy a vortex
Pitlips

posted on 16/6/11 at 12:37 PM Reply With Quote
How should I buy a vortex

Hi,
I've been after a bec for a long time now but never had the money. However the time has come for me to finally buy one.
I've been doing a lot of reading and it seems that of the 7 type kits the vortx is the one to go for, also I'm 6"3 and the vortx and fit the taller driver.
I don't know how best to buy one, I've been looking at the second hand cars but I want a full cage blue or White paddle shift and a reverse system.
This is quite specific I know, would I be better building one? The thing is I have very little mechanical knowledge and have never had a kit cat before.
Are they hard to build?
How long is it likely to take?
What would be a good build budget?

Sorry for all the questions, I hope someone can help, or sell me one?

Thanks

Ryan

vinny1275

posted on 16/6/11 at 01:04 PM Reply With Quote
one of the things with the Vortx is that MNR will set the roll hoops to your height - so you might struggle to get one tall enough.

They're quite easy to build (tho mine is an older vintage, so they might be easier now). If you don't already have a fairly comprehensive toolset, expect to be buying plenty, which would add to your budget. Also have an idea of the price of bits which aren't included in the kit - even down to nuts and bolts (which you'll be buying plenty of!).

It's worth speaking to MNR to see what they could build you one for, compared to the cost of a kit + tools if you don't already have them. An idea of the tools you'll need:

decent socket set
angle grinder
hacksaw
drill, with bits suitable for metal and fibreglass
holesaws
dremel
trestles / axle stands
multimeter
right angled drill chuck is handy

Having someone nearby who can weld is also handy (probably less necessary if you're going for a bec).